Tuesday, August 30, 2016

How To Remove A Follower on Instagram Without Blocking Them


There are sometimes when you just don't want someone to follow you on Instagram anymore. Maybe you've outgrown your friendship with them, maybe you had a fight, maybe it's an ex-partner, or maybe you never liked them and only let them follow you out of feeling like you had too. Whatever the reason, you just don't want them to see your photos and videos anymore, but you don't really want to block them. You just don't want them to follow you. So how do you do this? Instagram doesn't have a 'force this person to unfollow me' button... Never fear! There is a trick you can do. And after you've done this, it'd almost seem like they unfollowed you!

Okay, so the title is a little misleading and that is because you have to block them. But wait! Don't hit that back button yet! Hear me out! The trick is still coming! Okay, ready for it? Just simply block the person and then unblock them. Whaaaat! Let me explain if you don't get it yet.

When you block someone on Instagram, they'll no longer be able to see your feed or search for your name. But they can still find you either on the desktop Instagram website, if they know your username, or on a mutual friends profile. But, even if they did, they won't be able to re-follow you. Now, if you think this is a little extreme, just unblock them after blocking them. It'll still cause the following connection between you two to break, but they will still afterwards be able to search for you on Instagram. It'll just appear as if they no longer follow you. Now, of course this means that they can try re-adding you again, if they don't 'get the message'. And they might question why all of a sudden 'they stopped' following you. So... maybe it's still best just to leave them blocked.

Now, in case you've never blocked anyone on Instagram before (lucky you), here's how to do so:

Step 1. Open the Instagram app. Obviously.

Step 2. Find and view their Profile Page. You can either search for their name, go through your follower list, likes on a photo, etc...

Step 3. In the top right hand corner, tap the 'three dots' button.

Step 4. Tap 'Block User' and then confirm.

Step 5. If you wish to then unblock them, while you're still on their page, tap the 'three dots' button again, and this time tap 'Unblock User' and confirm.


-> Download Instagram from the iOS App Store


Got an iOS or MacOS question that you want answered? Follow and tweet me on Twitter and your question just might get answered on this site! And maybe on Twitter, too.  




0 comments:

Post a Comment

*Note: Comments only work from the Google Chrome browser.

Search