Friday, January 16, 2015

How To Disable Google Chrome's New Profile Switching Button On Tab Bar



Google Chrome recently updated it's browser for Mac and Windows, which has added a new Profile management tool on the right hand side of the tab-bar. Being different, many users have of course voiced their disgust with this new button added to Chrome's user interface. 

The new profile management button is useful for those who sign into Google Chrome to store all their data across multiple devices, and / or for those share a computer and want their own profiles on the browser. 

However for those who don't sign into Google Chrome, or share a computer, this is just another useless, annoying button that takes up space - that you can't seem to get rid of. Or can you?! 

There is a way to disable the new profile management button, that'll remove it from Chrome's tab-bar. This may seem a little advanced for the average user, but it is simple enough for anyone to do. It involves going into Chrome's experimental features, "Flags", section.  


To switch off the new profile management button from Chrome's tab bar follow these steps:


Warning: messing around in Chrome Flags could cause problems. As it says on the page: "..your browser may delete all your data, or your security and privacy could be compromised in unexpected ways." 

If you wish to continue, it's a good idea to back up your bookmarks and any other data, first. 


1. Type in the address bar; chrome://flags then press enter. 

2. Find the heading "Enable new profile management system". 

3. Switch this option to "Disabled". 

4. Relaunch Google Chrome. 


0 comments:

Post a Comment

*Note: Comments only work from the Google Chrome browser.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Search